Under the batons of Music Director Octavio Más-Arocas and Choral Director Brian Nabors, the Mansfield Symphony Orchestra will join forces with 140 singers from the Symphony Chorus and the Shelby High School Choir to perform “Joyous Finale,” May 12 at 8 PM at the Renaissance Theatre. The concert, presented as a part of the OhioHealth Symphony Series, will feature a concert adaptation of Michael Thomas’ original work, “Sentimental Journey,” as well as Shostokovich Symphony No. 5.

Thomas reflects on his original piece stating, “It is an emotional piece, not only due to the seriousness of the subject, but also because these words are being spoken by individuals who were actually there. These are individuals who actually walked that path and experienced the joy, the fear, the hopelessness and, ultimately, the profound realization that they were a part of something much larger than just a battle or war. They can honestly tell themselves that everything that they did, every hardship they endured, every battle they fought was right and good. It was a triumph of the human spirit.”

The second half of the performance will feature Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 in d minor. Music Director Más-Arocas describes the piece as one which runs, “the full gamut of human emotion – from expressive melodies so beautiful that they bring tears to your eyes, to barbarous brassy themes – the sound of war!  The piece ends in one of the most exciting, joyful finales ever composed.”

At 7 PM in the Renaissance Ballroom, music historian and classical music enthusiast Mark Sebastian Jordan will host the popular “Symphony Chat,” a conversation about the pieces on the program. “Symphony Chat” is free to attend and open to the public.

Tickets are on sale now online at MansfieldTickets.com and at the Renaissance Box Office for the Mansfield Symphony Orchestra’s “Joyous Finale,” starting at $10 for students and $15 for adults. A limited number of $50 Family Four Pack tickets are available for this event by contacting the Box Office.  In addition to the OhioHealth series sponsorship, this concert is presented by Donna Siebert, with additional funding from the Ohio Arts Council.

Source, Photo: Renaissance Performing Arts Association/Jeff Sprang

Send us your news — of an announcement, event,
club news, fundraiser – whatever! It’s easy to do online.

Become a 1812Blockhouse Newsroom Member, support independent media in Richland County, and get access to the new Super Richland! Details here.
You May Also Like

Sheriff’s Office Receives Certificate Of Commendation

The outstanding work of the Richland County Sheriff’s Office was recognized this…

July First Friday Shop Hop To Celebrate The Fourth

Downtown Mansfield, Inc. is hosting its next First Friday Shop Hop in…

Christmas In Central Park This Thursday

Take a moment to spend some holiday time the old-fashioned way. No,…

Renaissance Emerging Artists Program Receives Presitigous Grant

Special to 1812Blockhouse The National Endowment for the Arts has announced that…