Ohio’s new “Tobacco 21” law took effect this week, raising the age to purchase cigarettes, other tobacco products and alternative nicotine products such as e-cigarettes and vaping products from 18 to 21.

It is now also illegal to give such products to others under the age of 21.

“Evidence suggests that nicotine use during adolescence and young adulthood has long-term impacts on brain development, and tobacco use remains the leading cause of preventable death in the U.S.,” said Ohio Department of Health Director Amy Acton, MD, MPH. “Raising the sales age for tobacco and vaping products from 18 to 21 means that those who can legally obtain these products are less likely to be in the same social networks as high school students.”

“Research indicates that approximately 95% of adult smokers begin smoking before they turn 21,” said Ohio Governor Mike DeWine. “Increasing the age to 21 will reduce the chances of our young people starting to smoke and becoming regular smokers.”

A 2015 report by the Institute of Medicine indicated that raising the tobacco sales age from 18 to 21 will likely prevent or delay initiation of tobacco use by adolescents and young adults, particularly among youth 15 to 17 years old.

Cigarettes, electronic smoking deceives such as vapes, e-cigarettes and tanks, cigars, pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff, sus, dissolvable nicotine products, filters, rolling papers, pipes, blunts or hemp wraps, liquids used in electronic smoking devices whether they contain nicotine or not and vapor products: any component, part or additive that is intended for use in an electronic smoking device, a mechanical heating element, battery or electronic circuit and would be used to deliver the product are covered under the new law.

Tobacco products and alternative nicotine products do not include nicotine replacement therapy products for use when quitting tobacco and other nicotine products.

The law requires retailers to post a sign indicating that it is illegal to sell tobacco and alternative nicotine products to anyone under the age of 21. A clerk who sells tobacco and alternative nicotine products to a person under 21 and the owner of the retail establishment may face criminal penalties that increase after the first violation under Ohio’s Tobacco 21 law.

For a first offense, a misdemeanor of the fourth degree, a clerk is subject to no more than 30 days in jail and a fine up to $250, and the retail establishment is subject to a fine of $2,000.

For more information about Ohio’s Tobacco 21 law, go to OhioTobacco21.gov or call the toll-free hotline at 1-855-OHIO-T21. ODH’s Ohio Tobacco Quit Line at 1-800-QUIT-NOW offers free resources, including non-judgmental quit coaches for quitting tobacco and vaping products.

CACY (Community Action for Capable Youth) has put together a resource page to help those that are working with current smokers that are under the age of 21. The document is available here.

Source: Richland Public Health

Send us your news — of an announcement, event,
club news, fundraiser – whatever! It’s easy to do online.

Become a 1812Blockhouse Newsroom Member, support independent media in Richland County, and get access to the new Super Richland! Details here.
You May Also Like

2021 Top Stories: Spring Brought Two More Of 1812’s Ten Most Read Posts

By 1812Blockhouse This week we are looking back at ten of the…

Boaters Bring In Big Bucks For The Buckeye State

There’s little question that with its excellent reservoirs, Richland County is home…

ODOT Road Construction Report For Week Of June 17-23

During this year’s road building season, we are bringing you weekly construction…

Foundation Approves Almost $450,000 in Grants

The Richland County Foundation Board of Trustees approved $449,876 in grants during…