By 1812Blockhouse

Ohio’s District 5 Area Agency on Aging, Inc. is calling upon its communities to acknowledge and celebrate the dedicated efforts of senior citizens and organizations contributing positively to society. With a rich history of volunteerism and community service, the organization recognizes these unsung heroes through the Outstanding Senior Citizen and Community Service Awards. This initiative offers a unique opportunity to highlight individuals and groups making a significant impact in their local areas.

Honoring Seniors: A Tribute to Dedication and Service

The Outstanding Senior Citizen Award is a prestigious accolade acknowledging seniors who have dedicated their time and efforts to better their communities. Eligible nominees should be at least 60 years old, legal residents of Ohio for a minimum of five years, and have a record of exceptional community service.

This award, highlighting the significance of senior contributions, will be presented to an individual from each of the nine counties within the service area, including Ashland, Crawford, Huron, Knox, Marion, Morrow, Richland, Seneca, and Wyandot. Notably, couples who have jointly participated in community service are eligible to receive this award together, underscoring the importance of collaborative efforts in volunteerism.

Community Service Awards: Recognizing Collective Impact

In parallel, the Community Service Awards focus on honoring organizations, agencies, service clubs, media outlets, or businesses that have made outstanding contributions to the community, particularly in support of senior citizens. This award, unlike the Outstanding Senior Citizen Award, is presented to one recipient across the nine-county area, emphasizing the collective impact an organization can have on enhancing the lives of seniors.

Nomination Process

The nomination process for these awards is straightforward and accessible. Interested parties can find additional details and online nomination forms on the Area Agency on Aging website: Area Agency on Aging Awards. For those preferring direct communication or requiring assistance, Sue Montgomery can be contacted at 567-247-6458 or via email at [email protected]. The deadline for submitting nominations is set for March 29, making it imperative for community members to act promptly to ensure their candidates are considered.

Image: DALL-E 3

Send us your news — of an announcement, event,
club news, fundraiser – whatever! It’s easy to do online.

Become a 1812Blockhouse Newsroom Member, support independent media in Richland County, and get access to the new Super Richland! Details here.
You May Also Like

Ohio Moves Toward Regional COVID Containment

By: MahoningMatters Staff; 1812Blockhouse In response to the statewide spike in coronavirus…

Diversity And Inclusion To Be Featured At NECIC Hosted Event

Edward Akinyemi, Research & Development Coordinator at NECIC, will be the speaker…

Connect With The Season Via The MRCPL Bookmobile

By 1812Blockhouse With the colder weather roller coaster we have been on…

Updated State Of Ohio Travel Advisory

⬇ UPDATED Travel Advisory ⬇ Based on current positivity rates, Ohioans are…