For the 34th time, the rooms and hallways of Oak Hill Cottage will welcome visitors wanting to turn back the clock and experience a vintage holiday.
The house, built in 1847 by railroad superintendent John Robinson, was characterized as “the one perfect Gothic Revival house in the country” by at one prominent architect. It was then owned for over a century by the family of Dr. Johannes Jones, and is now owned and operated by the Richland County Historical Society.
This year, Christmas tours of the decorated house will be given on Sundays from 2 to 5 PM beginning with this Sunday, November 25 and continuing through December 30 (including December 23). The last tour each day will begin at 4:30 PM.
As a special treat, a “Ghosts of Christmas Past” tour will be held on Saturday, December 8 from 5 PM to 7 PM. Meet the former residents of Oak Hill Cottage from all its historic past in this once-a-year Saturday evening tour. Tours start every 10 minutes and the last tour begins at 7 PM.
The cost for both tours is is $5 for adults and $1 for children.