Special to 1812Blockhouse

The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association recently announced the results of its annual writing and photography contest with Writer of the Year honors going to Jake Furr from the Mansfield News Journal in Division 1, and Rob McCurdy of the Marion Star in Division 2.

The contest included submissions from the 2022 calendar year and was judged by OPSWA. There were four writing categories in two divisions based on circulation size. Each category was judged by two members from another division. Writers and photographers were judged on a body of work that included three submissions per category.

Results of the photography contest will be announced at a later date.

OPSWA membership now stands at 212 writers and photographers around the state. Founded in 1972, the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association works to support and enhance the coverage of high school sports in Ohio and to recognize superior writing among sports journalists. In 2010, the OPSWA partnered with the Ohio High School Athletic Association to create a website, establish electronic communications and increase its membership and recognition.

The OPSWA website is located at http://www.ohsaa.org/news/OPSWA and includes the membership directory, officers information, hall of fame inductees and other updates.

Congratulations, Jake, from 1812Blockhosue on this sportswriting honor!


DIVISION 1 – Jake Furr, Mansfield News Journal   

DIVISION 2 – Rob McCurdy, Marion Star  

2022 OPSWA Writing Contest, Division and Category Results

Two divisions based on circulation size. Point totals for Writer of the Year: 1st Place = 8 points, 2nd = 6 points, 3rd = 5 points, 4th = 3 points. Number of placers dependent on number of entries in each category.

Division 1 – Daily Circulation over 10,000 and Websites

Division 1, Game Stories

1. Jeff Gilbert, Dayton Daily News

2. Aaron Blankenship, SB Live Sports

3. Bruce Hooley, PressProsMagazine.com  

4. Jake Furr, Mansfield News Journal

Division 1, News Stories

1. Jake Furr, Mansfield News Journal

2. Curt Conrad, Richland Source

3. John Kampf, Willoughby News-Herald

Division 1, Feature Stories

1. Steve Blackledge, PressProsMagazine.com  

2. John Kampf, Willoughby News-Herald  

3. Bruce Hooley, PressProsMagazine.com  

4. Chris Lillstrung, Willoughby News-Herald

Division 1, Columns

1. Jake Furr, Mansfield News Journal  

2. Chris Lillstrung, Willoughby News-Herald  

3. John Kampf, Willoughby News-Herald  

Division 1 Writer of the Year: Jake Furr, Mansfield News Journal (19 points);   Runner-up: John Kampf, Willoughby News-Herald (16 points)

Division 2 – All Other Daily Newspapers (4+ Editions Per Week)

Division 2, Game Stories

1. Rob McCurdy, Marion Star

2. Kurt Snyder, Newark Advocate

3. Aaron Gross, Defiance Crescent-News

4. Bryant Billing, Sidney Daily News  

Division 2, News Stories

1. Jarrod Ulrey, Columbus ThisWeek Community News

2. Rob McCurdy, Marion Star

3. Matt Horn, Fremont News-Messenger  

Division 2, Feature Stories

1. Tom Nader, Portage Sports

2. Mark Hazelwood, Norwalk Reflector

3. Todd Stumpf, Medina Weekly

Division 2, Columns

1. Rob McCurdy, Marion Star

2. Tom Wilson, Lancaster Eagle-Gazette

Tie-3. Mark Hazelwood, Norwalk Reflector

Tie-3. Todd Stumpf, Medina Weekly

Division 2 Writer of the Year: Rob McCurdy, Marion Star (22 points); Runner-up: Mark Hazelwood, Norwalk Reflector (10 points)

Image by lisa runnels from Pixabay

Send us your news — of an announcement, event,
club news, fundraiser – whatever! It’s easy to do online.

Become a 1812Blockhouse Newsroom Member, support independent media in Richland County, and get access to the new Super Richland! Details here.
You May Also Like

New Store Arriving in Downtown Mansfield

There’s excitement on West Fourth Street as a new retail establishment is…

Gorman To Step Down As Gorman-Rupp Director After 73 Years

A remarkable tenure is set to end in April as James C.…

Richland Mall Sears Store Being Auctioned Online

Both the Wall Street Journal and Business Insider reported on Wednesday that…

Three Thousand And Counting

Our second local media post in two days – this one, however,…