Today’s landmark is not of a single structure or monument, as previous Landmarks of Mansfield listings have been. Instead, it is a collection of buildings located in what remains a somewhat rural setting on the southwest side of the city.
Raemelton Farm was established in 1918 by civic leader Frank Black, and named after the town in Ireland from which his father had emigrated to America. The farm was landscaped by famed landscape architect Martha Cruger Coffin, who was responsible for several outstanding gardens and landscapes including those at Winterthur in Wilmington, Delaware.
Black’s adjacent personal residence still survives at 818 Marion Avenue. Known as “Raemelton House,” it was constructed between 1929 and 1931.
The early to mid 20th century buildings, sitting on what survives from the original 2,000 acre estate, have housed the Raemelton Farm Therapeutic Equestrian Center since 1995. In 2002, thirteen buildings were listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
One thing is quickly evident to visitors at Raemelton – most of the frame structures or frame portions of brick structures are painted yellow – the favorite color of Black’s wife, Jessie. Another is the meticulous level of preservation not only of the barns, stables, and other buildings, but of the interior features. The combination powerful evokes a sense of its storied past.
In 2017, 1812Blockhouse took a tour at Raemelton Farm during the first Rich History Weekend. Our post from that visit can be found here, and it features more information and several photos taken that day.
More than three dozen previous Landmarks of Mansfield can be found here.
Sources: NRHP, Wikipedia: Photos: 1812Blockhouse