OSUM Staff Win Award For First Year Program

12 Feb , 2018  

A group of Student Life staff at The Ohio State University at Mansfield has been recognized for their efforts to improve student success through the innovative First Year Experience program, Camp Hetuck.

Camp Hetuck is a leadership and team–building program for first-year students on The Ohio State Mansfield campus.

On January 31, the Camp Hetuck Planning Committee was presented with the 2018 Outstanding First Year Advocate award. The committee received the award at a ceremony during the Focusing on the First Year Conference in the Ohio Union on the OSU campus. It is the first time a committee has ever won the award.

The planning committee is composed of Mike LaCroix, Michelle McGregor, Darla Myers, Pam Schopieray, Andy Sokolich, Renee Thompson, and Donna Hight.

Interim Dean and Director Norman Jones says, “I am grateful to each member of the committee for their contributions to this important part of our First Year Experience program at Mansfield, which helps our students get on track for success from the moment they arrive on campus. “

The first Camp Hetuck took place in the summer of 2005 and has evolved into a successful and sustainable two-night camp experience at Molyet Village Apartments on the Mansfield Campus. Camp Hetuck identifies incoming Ohio State freshman with previous leadership experience or interest in being a leader in college.

The primary objectives of the camp include:

Exposing students to the Mansfield Campus beyond their new student orientation

Introducing students to other first-year students in an intentional way of forming bonds to foster academic and social success

Completing team-building and leadership activities to strengthen those new bonds

This year’s Camp Hetuck is scheduled for Friday, July 12-13, 2018. For more information on Camp Hetuck go to

Source: The Ohio State University at Mansfield

Send us your news — of an announcement, event,
club news, fundraiser – whatever! It’s easy to do online.

Become a 1812Blockhouse Newsroom Partner and support
independent media in Richland County. Details here.


Comments are closed.