All About Richland

Symphony Opens 90th Season With Singing Competition

2 Oct , 2020  

Mansfield Symphony Orchestra will present “Mash-Up,” the first concert in its 90th Season, on Saturday, October 17 at 8:00 PM.

Under the direction of Octavio Más-Arocas, the event will feature the six singing competition finalists selected in the fall of 2019, and the Michigan-based group, Westbound Situation. The concert will be held inside the Renaissance Theatre, as well as live-streamed outside in the Ren Backlot.

The finalists performing in the competition are Allie Carter from the group Coma Love singing “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” from The Wizard of Oz, Audrey Lee-Strohm singing “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Miserables, Jarica Awwiller singing Frank Sinatra’s “Fly Me To the Moon,” Ashlea Shaw singing “Shallow” from A Star Is Born, Patrick Clinage singing Frank Sinatra’s “My Way,” and Ryan Shreve singing “The Music of the Night” from Phantom of the Opera.

With support from TextLoyal, the audience will text in their votes to select the winner. Third place will receive $50, second will receive $100, and first place will receive $250 and the opportunity to perform in the Mansfield Symphony Orchestra’s 2021-22 Season.

The second half of the concert will feature Westbound Situation. Westbound Situation blends the precision of classical chamber music, the rhythmic drive of bluegrass, and the colorful expression of jazz into a new style of chamber music—chambergrass. The quartet—comprised of Grant Flick on violin, Matt Davis on banjo, Zach Brown on cello, and Jacob Warren on bass— mixes composition and improvisation seamlessly into their entirely memorized arrangements.

The Renaissance has a thorough health and safety plan for all performers, patrons, staff, and volunteers. The full listing of restrictions and policies can be found by going to

Tickets for “Mash-Up” are on sale now at, or by contacting the Renaissance Box Office via phone at (419) 522-2726. The Box Office is currently open by appointment only. $10 student tickets, $75 Date Night tickets and $125 Me +3 tickets are available for this event. Full-price tickets range from $15 to $40. The Mansfield Symphony’s “Mash-up” concert is part of the OhioHealth Symphony Series and is presented in part thanks to funding from the Ohio Arts Council.

Source, Photo: Renaissance Performing Arts Association


Comments are closed.