The second Masterworks Concert by the Mansfield Symphony Orchestra will take place on Saturday, March 25 at 8:00 PM at the Renaissance Theatre in downtown Mansfield.

The program, entitled “Strife and Victory,” will feature Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5, Rimsky-Korsojov’s Procession of the Nobles, and the Cello Concerto of English composer Edward Elgar.

The latter work will feature Eric Graf, principal cellist of the MSO.

Conductor for the evening will be Octavio Mas-Arocas. As we recently shared with a post on the Renaissance Podcast’s most recent, Spanish-born Mas-Arocas has a strong resume in the music world, having been mentored by the renowned conductor Kurt Masur, he has won numerous conducting prizes including the Robert J. Harth Conducting Prize at the Aspen Music Festival. He is currently the Director of Orchestral Studies at the Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory of Music, and has been Director of Orchestras at the Interlochen Arts Academy. Other guest conductor roles have taken place across North America, South America, and Europe.

Elgar’s Cello Concerto was his last major work for orchestra, and was written shortly after the end of World War 1. The haunting melody in the Concerto’s opening movement has been referred to as an elegy of sorts on the generation of English men lost in battle. A video of the first movement can be seen below.

Tickets may be purchased online at this location.

Send us your news — of an announcement, event,
club news, fundraiser – whatever! It’s easy to do online.

Become a 1812Blockhouse Newsroom Member, support independent media in Richland County, and get access to the new Super Richland! Details here.
You May Also Like

Holiday Happenings From Now Through New Years Eve

Special to 1812Blockhouse While a number of holiday activities have already taken…

How Many Vaccine Shots Go to Waste? Several States Aren’t Counting

ProPublica is a nonprofit newsroom that investigates abuses of power. Sign up…

Taste Of Home Cooking Show Coming

The Taste of Home Cooking School presented by Ohio Health returns to…