By 1812Blockhouse

More than one Ohio community is looking these days at laws on the books concerning the discharge of fireworks.

Some are taking the extra step of considering legislation to opt out of regulations included in Ohio House Bill 172 which was passed late last year. Such a move would allow those cities to continue following their existing fireworks ordinances.

The bill allows Ohioans to legally discharge commercial grade fireworks on private property, and then only on some 20 designated holidays. Opting out, which is allowed under the bill, means that current bans can continue.

Cities, townships and counties also could decide to ban the discharge, ignition, or explosion of fireworks purchased, according to the law.

Cities adopting or considering legislation to continue bans include: South Euclid, Aurora, Chagrin Falls, Berea, Mayfield Heights, Cleveland Heights, North Royalton, Bexley, and others.

The city of Mansfield has such a ban, located at Chapter 1519 of the city’s codified ordinances.

About a month ago, the Safety Committee of City Council met to discuss the matter, but took no position at the time. During discussion, many comments centered on the ability to enforce the ban if the city opts out.

The revision to Ohio’s fireworks laws goes into effect on July 1.

Photo: Creative Commons License

Send us your news — of an announcement, event,
club news, fundraiser – whatever! It’s easy to do online.

Become a 1812Blockhouse Newsroom Member, support independent media in Richland County, and get access to the new Super Richland! Details here.
You May Also Like

OSU Trustees Approve Mirror Lake Changes

Living in a community in the network of regional campuses of The…

Mastiff Needs New Home

Severely underweight mastiff now looking for home MANSFIELD, Ohio (WJW)– A severely…

City Takes Aim At Illegal Dumping

Noting that violations take place on a regular basis, and cause a…

Board Of Elections Reminds Voters Of New Polling Locations; Voting Times

By 1812Blockhouse In a statement on social media, the Richland County Board…